Day 26 A time to reflect in Scrabster 29/06/16

I awoke this morning feeling mentally and physically battered! The thought of sailing the Pentland Firth with tides running up to 12 knots has given me sleepless nights during the months leading up to this challenge. With another difficult beat to windward and large waves to contend with through the night my body was telling me to stop. 

Dan, Simon and Ken were eager to visit the town but I decided to stay onboard and catch up with some sleep and admin. 

With time to think I felt homesick, missing my wife Kaz, son Harry and my two four legged mates, Bosun our Springer Spaniel and Sally our Cocker. I suddenly felt a long way from home. I am very fortunate and extremely grateful to Kaz, Harry and all my family and friends supporting Team Tikka and this morning I must admit I felt a bit emotional. 

I also took time to reflect on the crew that I’ve sailed with. I hope they enjoyed their adventure and am grateful for all that have helped me get Tikka this far. 

Danny Burnett is now into his 3rd week onboard and has proved invaluable as my First Mate and right hand man. I will miss him when he disembarks in Kyle of Lochalsh. I think we make a pretty good team. I hope Dan thinks the same!

Well showered, shaved, 2 man up pills taken and I’m ready to go again now. Shore leave for Team Tikka expires at midnight and we slip from Scrabster harbour at 0330. We need to head West to spread the word for Action for Children.  

Author: stevepointon

I'm sailing around the UK with family and friends onboard our yacht, Tikka, to raise awareness and money for " Action for Children "

Leave a Reply

